July 31, 2020 - 5 Minutes Read - By Francis Monyango

Through a General Notice, the Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Justin B. Muturi, EGH, M.P. indicated that the House would resume sittings on 30th July 2020 as opposed to 28th July as earlier communicated.

It will be interesting to watch out for the impact/ changes in dynamics following the reshuffle of the jubilee parliamentary leadership and overall House leadership as reflected in the House Business Committee.

New leadership includes:

1.     Hon. (Dr.) Amos Kimunya, EGH, M.P.- Leader of the Majority Party

2.     Hon. CPA John Mbadi, CBS, M.P. – Leader of the Minority Party

3.     Hon. Emmanuel Wangwe, M.P.- Whip Majority Party

4.     Hon. Junet Sheikh Nuh Mohamed, M.P. – Whip Minority Party

Chairpersons and vice chairpersons of key committees are:

Name of CommitteeChairpersonVice- Chairperson
Departmental Committees
Administration and National SecurityHon. Paul KoinangeHon. Fatuma Gedi Ali
Agriculture and LivestockHon. Silas Kipkoech TirenHon. Catherine Wanjiku Waruguru
Communication, Information and InnovationHon. William Kipkemoi KisangHon. Jane Wanjuki Njiru
Defence and Foreign RelationsHon. Judah Katoo Ole MetitoHon. Richard Nyagaka Tongi
Education and ResearchHon. Florence Mwikali MutuaHon. Martin Deric Ngunjiri Wambugu
Environment and Natural ResourcesHon. Japhet Miriti Kareke MbiukiHon. Sophia Noor Abdi
EnergyHon. David GikariaHon. Gladwell Jesire Cheruiyot
Finance and National PlanningHon. Gladys Atieno Nyasuna WangaHon. Isaac Waihenya Ndirangu
HealthHon. Sabina Wanjiru Maitu ChegeHon. Joshua Kutuny Serem
Justice and Legal AffairsHon Clement Muturi KiganoHon. Paul Otiende Amollo
Trade, Industry and CooperativesHon. Adan Haji AliHon. Ruth W. Mwaniki
Financial Audit and Money Related Committees
Public Accounts CommitteeHon. James Opiyo WandayiHon. Jessica Nduku Kiko Mbalu
Public Investments CommitteeHon. Abdullswamad Sheriff NassirHon. Ahmed Abdisalan Ibrahim
Budget and Appropriations CommitteeHon. James Kanini KegaHon. Moses K. Lessonet
Select Committees
Committee on AppointmentsHon. Justin B.N. Muturi, EGH, MPHon. Moses Kikemboi Cheboi
Committee on Delegated LegislationHon. William Kassait KamketHon. Charles Muriuki Njagagua

At the Senate, the following are the new members in leadership:

1.     Sen. Poghisio Samuel Losuron- Senate Majority Leader

2.     Sen. Orengo James- Senate Minority Leader

3.     Sen. Kang’ata Irungu-  Senate Majority Whip

4.     Sen. Kilonzo Mutula Junior- Senate Minority Whip

Chairpersons and vice-chairperson of key committees include:

Standing Committees
Agriculture Livestock and FisheriesSen. Peter Njeru NdwigaSen. Enoch Kiio Wambua
Devolution and Intergovernmental RelationsSen. Moses Otieno Kajwang’Sen. Anuar Loitiptip
EducationSen. (Dr.) Alice Chepkorir MilgoSen. (Dr.) Agnes Philomena Zani
EnergySen. (Eng.) Ephraim MwangiSen. Victor Prengei
Information Communication and TechnologySen. Moi Gideon KipsieleiSen. Abshiro Soka Halake
Finance and BudgetSen. Charles Reubenson KibiruSen. (Dr.) G.M. Ayako Ochilo
HealthSen. Michael Maling’a MbitoSen. Mary Yiane Seneta
Justice Legal Affairs and Human RightsSen. Erick Okong’o MogeniSen. Naomi Jilo Wago
Lands, Environment and Natural ResourcesSen. Paul Githiomi MwangiSen. Philip Salau Mpaayei
National Security and Foreign RelationsSen. Mohamed Yusuf HajiSen. Fredrick Otieno Outa
Tourism, Trade and IndustrializationSen. (Dr.) Abdullahi Ibrahim AliSen. (Dr.) Getrude Musuruve Inimah
Sessional Committees
County Public Accounts and InvestmentsSen. (Prof.) Samson Kegengo OngeriSen. Godana Hargura
Delegated LegislationSen. Mohamed MwinyihajiSen. Boniface Mutinda Kabaka
Ad-hoc Select Committee
Ad-hoc Committee on Covid-19 SituationSen. Sylvia Mueni Kasanga 

Notably, in order to reduce the spread of Covid-19, Parliamentary Committee meetings are now being held virtually and the House sits only once a week. This will potential have a negative impact on public participation in the legislative processes due to limited access to the Honourable members.

Spread the love

    Who is Who

  • New appointment at Safaricom board

    Mr. Adil Khawaja (MBS) has been appointed the Chairman of the Board of Safaricom PLC, having been appointed director at the same entity earlier. Mr. Khawaja currently serves as the Managing Partner at Dentons Hamilton Harrison & Mathews, and is a leading name in the

    Spread the love
    More ..
  • Meet Samir Ibrahim a new board member at KAR

    Mr Ibrahim is the Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of Sunculture Kenya Limited, a climate, solar, agriculture, food systems and security, water, financing and Internet of Things firm. He is also an advisor to Ezra Venture Studio, a team and network of company builders and

    Spread the love
    More ..
  • Michael Kamau Kamiru is a new board member at KRA

    Mr Kamiru is currently the Head of Governance, Risk and Compliance, at Jubilee Allianz General Insurance Limited. He is a Finance Management and Risk Management professional with over 27 years of demonstrated leadership and management experience in the Kenyan insurance industry. Mr Kamiru also has

    Spread the love
    More ..